Wednesday, 19 May 2010

An Introduction to the Global Sprint Challenge

The Global Sprint Challenge is a series of eight races across Australia (2), Japan (2), Hong Kong (1) and the UK (3), with the King’s Stand Stakes and Golden Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot legs two and three and the Darley July Cup at Newmarket leg four.

The opening race of the series in Australia, the Coolmore Lightning Stakes, was won by Nicconi, who today bids to follow in the footsteps of Takeover Target, Miss Andretti and Scenic Blast, who have been successful for Australia at Royal Ascot in recent years.

When the Global Sprint Challenge was launched in 2005, the King’s Stand Stakes was worth £140,000 and the Golden Jubilee Stakes, £250,000. Both have increased in value to reflect their growing international significance and in 2010, the Golden Jubilee Stakes is run for £450,000 and the King’s Stand Stakes for £300,000.

The US$1,000,000 Global Sprint Challenge bonus pool can be won by landing any three Group One Challenge legs in any three countries. The series moves to Japan after the July Cup, then back to Australia before culminating in Hong Kong in December.

Considered the standard-bearer for international racing within Europe, Ascot actively seeks to strengthen its programme through the participation of horses from all around the world.

The racecourse has welcomed runners from Australia, New Zealand, America, Hong Kong, Japan, South Africa and all over Europe this decade.

Ascot is today pleased to welcome representatives of its challenge partners at home, Newmarket, and abroad; Racing Victoria, the Victoria Racing Club, the Japan Racing Association and the Hong Kong Jockey Club.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share This